In China, officialdom novels: more than a hundred titles per year.

A thousand years long tradition had an unintended consequence in recent years, the development of a new literary genre: officialdom novels. This is why it is good news that Penguin China has published a few weeks ago “The civil servant notebook” by Wang Xiaofang, the great master of the genre, translated by Eric Abrahamsen, one of the founders of the well known site  who lives in Beijing since 2001.

1 / The notebook of Lire la suite

Han Dong, an independent writer in Nanjing.

Han Dong is almost unknown in France, his books are not yet translated. This is not the case in the UK because of the efforts of a well-known translator Nicky Harman, who was kind enough to answer our many questions about this writer.

1 /The father, a writer, a family “sent to the countryside”:

Han Dong was born in Nanjing in 1961, he was the son of Han Jianguo (1930-1979), better known by the name … Lire la suite

Tan Twan Eng, a Malaysian writer for a British literary prize ?

Tan Twan Eng est un écrivain malaisien d’origine chinoise qui partage son temps entre l’île de Pénang où il est né et l’Afrique du Sud où il réside.

On a parlé, il y a quelques années, de son premier livre « A Gift of Rain », qui n’est malheureusement pas traduit en français. Ce livre avait été remarqué et figuré dans la première sélection du Booker prize, le Goncourt anglais. Son deuxième roman, très réussi, … Lire la suite

Yan Lianke and “The Four books”, a novel on totalitarian madness.

The end of the holiday period provides us with a major book from a Chinese novelist whom we had the pleasure to interview twice: Yan Lianke.

We remember for sure “Serve the People”, the “Dream of Ding Village”, “The Joy of living” published in 2009, and a beautiful text, “The Days, the months, the years”.

In “The Four Books”, he recalls the Great Leap Forward, the disastrous economic reforms imposed by Mao Zedong from 1958 … Lire la suite

Anni Baobei: a flower in the dark.

This is the nickname given to Anni Baobei by her”fans” for her novels of desolation and isolation. She is one of the most famous authors in modern China particularly among women and people under 35. “The Road of Others,” a collection of three newly-published (1) short stories is the translation of her first book “Goodbye Vivian” (2001). This short story, first published online secured her immediate fame.

1 – A literary star of the internet:… Lire la suite

Reading Chinese novels in the West…(follow up)

The Macau Ricci Institute asked me a few months ago to prepare an article on contemporary Chinese literature and the West. This text has been published in English and Chinese in the April 2012 issue of the journal “Chinese Cross Currents”. The editor of this magazine has been kind enough to post on the internet the full content of this article.

Lire la suite

Qiu Xiaolong: more than detective stories in my life !

Qiu Xiaolong, whom I met recently, noted that one speaks mainly of his detective novels. This mentioned without acrimony, as he is a model of courtesy, but I have to take this into account: for Qiu Xiaolong, the main thing is poetry!

Poetry, from theTang to TS Eliot and … Qiu Xiaolong.

His research for a thesis on the Anglo-American poet TS Eliot, led him to St. Louis (Missouri) with a grant from the Ford … Lire la suite

Shirley Geok-Lin Lim: from Malaysia to California.

Shirley Geok-Lin Lim is a writer, poet and academic, well known in the U.S., ignored in France, where not even a line is translated. Yet she is a leading figure and a talented writer who can be discovered by reading her memoirs, probably her best novel “Among the white moon faces” (1). /

1 / Malacca, the sleepy hollow:


Born in Malacca in 1944, a beautiful city, 150 kilometers south of Kuala Lumpur, … Lire la suite

Reading Chinese novels in the West.

The Macau Ricci Institute asked me a few months ago to prepare an article on contemporary Chinese literature and the West. This text has been published in English and Chinese in the April issue of the journal “Chinese Cross Currents.” This magazine has posted on the internet more than one third of the article which was written after a dozen interviews with editors and translators in England, France and the United States.

We will give … Lire la suite

Who translates and publishes Chinese literature in French?

The site plays an important role: it publicizes Chinese literature abroad and encourages publishers to develop their catalog. The site was founded by a group of well known English speaking translators, some of them living in China.

1 / “Paper-Republic” and Chinese literature in French:


The site, managed in recent months by Helen Wang, has been very active with the book fair in London where China was the guest of honor. Helen Wang … Lire la suite

Yang Xianhui and Wang Bing: let survivors of labour camps talk and testify.

Two films by Wang Bing are just released: “Fengming, chronicle of a Chinese woman,” an amazing documentary film, three hours long, where a long time Communist recounts her life and the death of her husband in a camp, in a casual and controlled way, but where one can feel love and humanity. “The Ditch” is a film that deals with a camp for “reeducation through labor” and the famine of 1960. Both films are directly … Lire la suite

Anne Cheng: Confucius reassessed, a Chinese export product.



Since 2008, Anne Cheng, a former student of the Ecole Normale Supérieure, leads in the Collège de France her research and teaching activities on the intellectual history of China, after having carried them under the CNRS and the National Institute of Oriental Languages ​​and Civilizations (INALCO).

Her translation of ” The Analects” of Confucius and her “Histoire de la pensée chinoise” have become classics. She was kind enough to analyse current events in the … Lire la suite

Shi Zhecun, modernism and continuity in Shanghai.

The publisher Bleu de Chine Gallimard has published several books of good quality on literature of the 1930s including an excellent collection of texts and drawings by Feng Zikai (1).

With the short stories by Shi Zhecun (2), published a few months ago, in a translation by Marie Laureillard and Gilles Cabrero, you can discover an author somewhat forgotten and whom we knew only with two short stories translated into the excellent book “The Shanghai … Lire la suite

En Chine, les fonctionnaires inspirent une centaine de romans tous les ans.

La tradition millénaire du mandarinat a eu une conséquence imprévue ces dernières années: le développement d’un nouveau genre littéraire: la bureaucratie romanesque. C’est pourquoi, il faut se féliciter que Penguin China ait publié il y a quelques semaines « The civil servant notebook » de Wang Xiaofang, le grand maître du genre, traduit en anglais par Eric Abrahamsen, un des fondateurs du site incontournable www.paper-republic.org ,qui vit à Pékin depuis 2001.

1/ Le carnet d’un Lire la suite

Han Dong, un écrivain indépendant à Nankin.

Han Dong est quasiment inconnu en France, aucune de ses œuvres n’est traduite. Ce n’est pas le cas au Royaume Uni du fait des efforts d’une traductrice bien connue, Nicky Harman, qui a bien voulu répondre à nos nombreuses questions sur cet écrivain.

1/ Un père écrivain, une famille « envoyée à la campagne » :

Han Dong est né à Nankin en 1961, il est le fils de Han Jianguo (1930-1979) plus connu sous le nom de … Lire la suite

Tan Twan Eng, un écrivain malaisien pour un prix littéraire britannique ?

Tan Twan Eng est un écrivain malaisien d’origine chinoise qui partage son temps entre l’île de Pénang où il est né et l’Afrique du Sud où il réside.

On a parlé, il y a quelques années, de son premier livre « A Gift of Rain », qui n’est malheureusement pas traduit en français. Ce livre avait été remarqué et figuré dans la première sélection du Booker prize, le Goncourt anglais. Son deuxième roman, très réussi, … Lire la suite

Yan Lianke: « Les Quatre Livres », le roman de la folie maoïste.

La rentrée nous fournit un ouvrage important d’un romancier chinois dont on a déjà beaucoup parlé : Yan Lianke.

On se souvient de « Servir le peuple », du « Rêve du village des Ding », de « Bons baisers de Lénine » publié en 2009, ou d’un texte superbe, « Les Jours, les mois, les années ».

Dans « Les Quatre Livres », il évoque leGrand Bond en avant, une réforme économique … Lire la suite

Anni Baobei: une fleur dans la pénombre.

Tel est le surnom donné à Anni Baobei par ses « fans » pour ses textes de désolation et d’isolement. Elle est un des auteurs les plus célèbres de la Chine actuelle tout particulièrement auprès des femmes et des moins de 35 ans. « The Road of Others », un recueil de trois nouvelles qui vient d’être publié (1) est la traduction de son premier livre « Au Revoir Vivian » (2001). Cette nouvelle, d’abord … Lire la suite

Lire des romans chinois en Occident …(suite)

L’Institut Ricci de Macau m’a demandé il y a quelques mois de préparer un article sur la littérature chinoise contemporaine et l’occident. Ce texte est paru en anglais et en chinois dans le numéro d’avril 2012 de la revue « Chinese Cross Currents ». Cette revue a, fort aimablement et depuis quelques jours, mis en ligne la totalité de l’article.

Lire la suite

Qiu Xiaolong: il n’y a pas que les romans policiers dans ma vie !

Qiu Xiaolong, que nous avons rencontré récemment, fait remarquer que l’on parle surtout de ses romans policiers. Une remarque sans acrimonie, car il est d’une urbanité parfaite, mais que je suis contraint de prendre aussi à mon compte; pour Qiu Xiaolong, l’essentiel, c’est la poésie !

La poésie, des Tang à T.S. Eliot et à… Qiu Xiaolong.

Ses recherches pour une thèse sur le grand poète anglo-américain T.S Eliot, le conduisent à St. Louis … Lire la suite

« Le Point » sur Confucius.

Les « hors séries » des magazines sont souvent décevants: un mauvais équilibre des différents thèmes, des articles d’une qualité et d’un intérêt inégal, une présentation et une iconographie traitées trop rapidement. C’est pourquoi c’est un plaisir de mentionner dans la série « les maîtres penseurs », publié par « Le Point », un document de 115 pages qui offre une synthèse remarquable sur Confucius, « le vrai maître de la Chine ».

Catherine Golliau, la rédactrice en chef, a su s’entourer d’un … Lire la suite

Shirley Geok-Lin Lim: de Malaisie en Californie.

Shirley Geok-Lin Lim est écrivain, poète et universitaire, très connue aux Etats Unis, ignorée en France où pas une ligne n’est traduite. C’est pourtant une personnalité de premier plan et un écrivain de talent que l’on peut découvrir en lisant ses mémoires, probablement son meilleur roman « Among the white moon faces »(1)./

1/ Malacca, la belle endormie :

Née à Malacca en 1944,une ville magnifique située à 150 kilomètres au sud de Kuala Lumpur, où se sont … Lire la suite

Lire des romans chinois en Occident.

L’Institut Ricci de Macau m’a demandé il y a quelques mois de préparer un article sur la littérature chinoise contemporaine et l’Occident. Ce texte vient de paraître en anglais et en chinois dans le numéro d’avril de la revue « Chinese Cross Currents ». Cette revue a mis en ligne plus d’un tiers de l’article qui a été écrit après une dizaine d’interviews avec des éditeurs et traducteurs en Angleterre, en France et aux Etats Unis.

On … Lire la suite

Qui traduit et publie de la littérature chinoise en français?

Le site http://paper-republic.org/ joue un rôle important pour faire connaître la littérature chinoise à l’étranger et inciter les éditeurs à développer leur catalogue. Le site a été fondé par un groupe de traducteurs anglophones bien connus et dont certains vivent en Chine.

1/ « Paper-Republic » et la littérature chinoise en français :

Le site, animé ces derniers mois par Helen Wang, a été très actif avec le salon du livre à Londres où la Chine était l’invité … Lire la suite

Yang Xianhui et Wang Bing: donner la parole aux survivants des camps.

Deux films de Wang Bing viennent de sortir: « Fengming, chronique d’une femme chinoise », un documentaire étonnant de trois heures où une communiste convaincue raconte sa vie et la mort de son mari dans un camp; un ton détaché, maîtrisé mais où perce l’amour et l’humanité. « Le Fossé » est un film de fiction qui traite d’un camp de « rééducation par le travail » et de la famine de 1960. Ces deux films sont directement inspirés d’un recueil … Lire la suite

Anne Cheng: Confucius réinventé, un produit d’exportation chinois.

Depuis 2008, Anne Cheng, ancienne élève de l’Ecole normale supérieure, effectue au Collège de France ses travaux de recherche et d’enseignement sur l’histoire intellectuelle de la Chine, après les avoir menés dans le cadre du CNRS puis de l’Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales (INALCO).

Sa traduction des « Entretiens » de Confucius et son « Histoire de la pensée chinoise » sont devenus des classiques.

Elle a bien voulu nous parler de l’actualité de Confucius tant … Lire la suite