Shen Congwen, a writer once banned in China and Taiwan.

Shen Congwen is one of the greatest Chinese writers of the pre-war period. Hence the importance of the recent release in France of “The Journey to Xiang and other short stories”(1) that illustrates the talent of the writer in various styles.

His life and career are totally atypical. His family is a blend of the dominant Han population and the Miao and Tujia minorities in the beautiful region of south-central China, Hunan. He enlisted in … Lire la suite

Shen Congwen and Zhang Zhaohe, married for over fifty years…

The release a few weeks ago of a book by Shen Congwen (which will be discussed later): “The journey to Xiang and other short stories” (1), has led me to read again his translated works and also to discover a remarkable book, “Four sisters of Hofei “by Annping Chin. She was born in Taiwan in 1950, a professor in the History Department at Yale University and the wife of Jonathan Spence, the well-known academic.

Annping … Lire la suite

Fenghuang, the most beautiful small town in China?

It is in Fenghuang that the famous writer Shen Congwen (1902-1988) spent his youth. This small town in western Hunan Province (South China), is considered a unique architecture heritage, being considered for the World Heritage List of theUnesco.

An unsettled border zone:

In China, the Han are 92% of the population. Fifty-six “ethnic minorities” total 110 million of which 9 million people are Miao; with the Tujia, the Miao represent an important share of the … Lire la suite

Shen Congwen, a great writer to be rediscovered .

With Lao She and Lu Xun, Shen Congwen is without doubt one of the great writers of the last century, but for Shen Congwen, no further translations, he has to be discovered by a new generation.

 A family of military tradition:

An illustrious grandfather, who was general, a father who was a military doctor but never at home. Miao by his grandmother and Tujia by his mother, he claims that he is a Han  but … Lire la suite

Shen Congwen et Zhang Zhaohe, un mariage de plus de cinquante ans.

La publication il y a quelques semaines d’un ouvrage de Shen Congwen (dont on reparlera): « Le périple de Xiang et autres nouvelles »(1), m’a conduit à relire son œuvre traduite et surtout à découvrir un livre remarquable « Four sisters of Hofei » par Annping Chin. Elle est née à Taiwan en 1950, professeur au département d’histoire de l’université de Yale et est l’épouse de Jonathan Spence, l’universitaire bien connu.

Annping Chin a pu rencontrer les quatre sœurs … Lire la suite

Fenghuang, la plus belle petite ville de Chine?

C’est à Fenghuang, que le grand écrivain Shen Congwen (1902-1988) a passé sa jeunesse. Cette petite ville, à l’Ouest de la province du Hunan (Chine du Sud), est considérée comme un ensemble architectural unique, en cours d’inscription à la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.

1/ Une zone de confrontation :

En Chine, les Han constituent 92% de la population. Cinquante six « minorités ethniques » totalisent 110 millions de personnes dont 9 millions pour l’ethnie Miao qui, … Lire la suite

Shen Congwen, un grand écrivain à redécouvrir.

Avec Lao She et Lu Xun, Shen Congwen est sans doute l’un des grands écrivains du siècle précédent, mais contrairement à ses deux contemporains, on a arrêté de le publier, il est au purgatoire

Un illustre grand père qui fut général, un père médecin militaire mais surtout absent. Miao par sa grand mère et Tujia par sa mère, Shen Congwen se dit Han mais se rêve Miao. Toute son œuvre témoigne de sa fascination pour … Lire la suite