KS Maniam, a major writer, emigration and citizenship in Malaysia.

KS Maniam 8Subramaniam Krishnan (KS) Maniam is one of the major writers born and living in Malaysia, but of Indian origin (Tamil) and writing in English, he is not part of the “national” literature that constitute with the privileges attached, the authors writing in the Malay language.

 

– “National” literature:

For the 30 million inhabitants of Malaysia, racial origin is essential: 63% are Malays, “Sons of the soil”, just under 10% are of Indian origin (mostly … Lire la suite

Liu Zhenyun in Paris.

Liu Zhenyun 5Liu Zhenyun is one of the Chinese writers best known for his literary successes and the famous films of his friend Feng Xiaogang. Liu Zhenyun, on a European tour, just spent a few days in Paris to present films and novels as he had already done in October 2013.

 

A family tour :

The program began with a presentation at the Confucius Institute of the University of Paris Diderot of ” A word is Lire la suite

Shamini Flint, Ovidia Yu, Barbara Ismail, discover detective novels from Malaysia and Singapore.

Shamini_FlintTwo or three years ago, I mentioned the qualities of several detective novelists from Malaysia and Singapore. The success is confirmed: six novels by Shamini Flint are translated into French, Ovidia Yu publishes a third novel and Barbara Ismail, in a few weeks, will publish a fourth book.

 

1- Authors, very different women:

 

Shamini Flint is a Malaysian lawyer of Indo-Ceylonian origin who, after a brilliant legal career in Malaysia, Singapore and Great … Lire la suite

Wu Ming-yi, a magician in the field of literature.

Wu Ming-yiAmong significant writers in Taiwan, Wu Ming-yi occupies a leading position. Born in 1971, after studying literature and writing important works on rivers, coastal populations and butterflies, he is a professor of literature at Dong Hwa University.

I mentioned the release of his second novel, “The man with the compound eyes” which had  some impact in the English-speaking world but had hardly been supported in France; a very good novel on pollution and … Lire la suite

Rao Pingru illustrates a love of sixty years.

Rao Pingru 11Rao Pingru is 95 years old, he is the guest of honor of the Festival of comic strips which is held these days in Angouleme, in France. His first book, which combines text and drawings, has just been translated (1) and yet he does not consider himself a writer or an artist.

 

He was older than 90 years when he wrote this first book:

 

Married almost 60 years to Mao Meitang, Rao Pingru … Lire la suite

Romain Rolland, forgotten in France, praised in China.

romain-rollandWhat do you think of “Jean Christophe”? To reply that I had not read it resulted in a reaction of surprise from Chinese friends … I was all the less forgivable because I live in Paris around the Luxembourg Garden, near the 162 Boulevard du Montparnasse, where Romain Rolland stayed and wrote “Jean Christophe”.

 

Romain Rolland, a writer without borders:

 

He was a writer, an intellectual of a stature and influence which we … Lire la suite

Xue Yiwei, a writer famous in China and almost unknown in Montreal.

xue-yiwei-4Two short stories collections, “War Stories” and “Shenzheners” by Xue Yiwei , a celebrated writer in China who lives in Montreal for almost fifteen years, are now translated into English.

 

– From Shenzhen to Montreal:

 

He grew up in Changsha, Hunan, where he worked for a local government body after studying computer science in Beijing. In 1989, at 25, he published his first novel “Desertion“, an essentially … Lire la suite

The multi-talented Taiwanese novelist Zhang Dachun visiting Paris.

zhang-dachun-a-parisTaiwan Cultural Center in Paris has invited Zhang Dachun (Chang Ta-chun), one of the most famous Taiwanese writers to recall the memories of their fifteen years for three generations, his father, himself and his daughter.

 

– His father is fifteen in 1936:

 

The father is a native of Jilin in Shandong, he was a minor official who only went to college and had no connection with the intellectual community. The year 1936 sees … Lire la suite

Liu Cixin and “The three-body problem”, an international success.

liu-cixin-8This Science Fiction novel, is an international success. The three novels of the serie were translated into English and the first volume, “The three-body problem” is now available in a translation into French by Gwennaël Gaffric (1).

 

The three novels, published as from 2008 were sold in China more than two million copies and exceptional achievement, the English translation has been read by 200.000 people including Marc Zukerberg and President Obama. Ken Liu, a … Lire la suite

Qiu Xiaolong, a gourmet and a poet to the service of police investigation.

qiu-xiaolongThe novelist is spending a couple of days in France to present his tenth book “Once upon a time Inspector Chen” (1), accompanied by a small volume offered by the publishers, “Once upon a time Qiu Xiaolong” (2). A very attractive set, well served by the translation by Adelaide Pralon, which brings us into the intimacy of the author and his hero, inspector Chen Cao.

 

– Chen Cao, how to become an inspector:Lire la suite

In “Marrow” by Yan Lianke, a mother refuses to accept fate.

yan-lianke-5Yan Lianke is one of the most important present Chinese writers, certainly a candidate for a Nobel prize. Seven of his novels have been translated into French, but few short stories or short novels. Therefore, we welcome that a novel, published in 1999, is translated into English (1). A book that the author published before his most famous novels, but which contains many of the themes he will develop later.

– A novel of his Lire la suite

Su Tong, a great novel, “Tale of the Siskin”.

Su Tong 6The latest novel by Su Tong, “Tale of the Siskin” (1) has just been released in France. A great book which, like his previous novel “The boat to redemption” (2), was translated by the talented Francois Sastourné. Leading literary awards: Man Asia 2009 award for “The boat…” and especially the ninth Mao Dun prize in 2015 for his latest novel.

– Short stories, historical novels, films:
Su Tong is one of the most famous … Lire la suite

Xu Xiaobin, romance, some sex and some good books.

Xu Xiaobin 6Xu Xiaobin is a famous writer in China, three novels have been translated into English. A romantic style but sometimes including some social reality.
“Crystal Wedding” fifteen years of the life of a couple:
Yang Tianyi, the heroin is, as says the author, a woman, a pretty ordinary intellectual and she tells us the fifteen years (1984-1999) between her marriage and her divorce, her relations with her husband and several unsuccessful love affairs, her failure … Lire la suite

Liu Zhenyun à Paris.

 

Liu Zhenyun 5

Liu Zhenyun est un des écrivains chinois les plus connus par ses succès littéraires et les films célèbres de son complice Feng Xiaogang. Liu Zhenyun, dans le cadre d’une tournée européenne, vient de passer quelques jours à Paris pour présenter films et romans comme il l’avait déjà fait en octobre 2013.

 

Une affaire de famille :

Le programme a commencé par une présentation à l’Institut Confucius de l’Université Paris Diderot de « En un Lire la suite

Shamini Flint, Barbara Ismail, Ovidia Yu, découvrez les romans policiers de Malaisie et Singapour.

Shamini Flint

Shamini Flint

Il y a deux ou trois ans, je mentionnais les qualités de plusieurs auteurs de romans policiers de Malaisie et Singapour. Le succès est confirmé : six romans de Shamini Flint sont traduits en français, Ovidia Yu publie un troisième roman et Barbara Ismail, dans quelques semaines, publiera un quatrième livre.

 

1-      Des auteurs, des femmes très différentes :

Shamini Flint est une juriste malaisienne d’origine indo-ceylanaise, qui après une brillante carrière juridique en … Lire la suite

Wu Ming-yi, un magicien de la littérature.

Wu Ming-yiParmi les écrivains qui comptent à Taiwan, Wu Ming-yi occupe une position de premier plan. Né en 1971, après des études de littérature et des travaux importants sur les rivières, les populations côtières et les papillons, il est professeur de lettres à l’université Dong Hwa.

 

J’avais mentionné la parution de son deuxième roman, « L’homme aux yeux à facettes », qui avait fait quelque bruit dans le monde anglophone mais n’avait guère été défendu … Lire la suite

« Un chant céleste » de Yan Lianke, une fable superbe sur le destin.

yan-lianke-5Yan Lianke est un des écrivains chinois actuels les plus importants, à coup sûr Nobélisable. Huit de ses romans ont été traduits en français, mais peu de nouvelles ou de courts romans. C’est pourquoi, il faut se féliciter qu’une longue nouvelle, publiée en 1999, déjà traduite en anglais (1), soit maintenant disponible en français (2).

– Un roman de son pays natal :

Ce livre d’une centaine de pages a pour titre « Un chant célesteLire la suite

Rao Pingru nous illustre un amour de soixante années.

Rao Pingru 11Rao Pingru a 95 ans, il est l’invité d’honneur du Festival de la bande dessinée qui se tient ces jours-ci à Angoulème. Son premier livre, qui conjugue texte et dessins, vient d’être traduit (1) et pourtant, il ne se considère ni comme écrivain ni comme dessinateur.

 

Un premier livre à plus de 90 ans :

 

Marié près de 60 ans à Mao Meitang, Rao Pingru a commencé à dessiner pour communiquer avec sa femme, … Lire la suite

Romain Rolland, oublié en France, célébré en Chine.

romain-rollandQue pensez-vous de « Jean Christophe » ? Répondre que je ne l’avais pas lu entraînait une réaction de surprise d’amis chinois…J’étais d’autant moins pardonnable que je vis à Paris autour du Jardin du Luxembourg, près du 162 Boulevard du Montparnasse, où Romain Rolland séjourna et écrivit « Jean Christophe ».

 

Romain Rolland, un patron des âmes, un écrivain sans frontières :

 

Il a été un écrivain, un intellectuel d’une stature et d’une influence que l’on a peine à … Lire la suite

Xue Yiwei, un écrivain célèbre en Chine, quasiment inconnu à Montréal…

xue-yiwei-4La traduction récente en anglais de deux recueils de nouvelles , « War stories » et « Shenzheners » permet de découvrir Xue Yiwei, un écrivain célèbre en Chine mais qui vit depuis quinze ans, quasiment inconnu, à Montréal.

 

  • De Shenzhen à Montréal :

 

Il grandit à Changsha dans le Hunan où il travailla dans un organisme d’administration locale après des études d’ingénieur informatique à Pékin. Il publie en 1989, à 25 ans, … Lire la suite

Les talents multiples du romancier taiwanais Zhang Dachun en visite à Paris.

zhang-dachun-a-parisLe Centre culturel de Taiwan à Paris avait invité Zhang Dachun (Chang Ta-Chun), un des écrivains taiwanais les plus connus, à présenter les souvenirs de leurs quinze ans pour trois générations, son père, lui-même et sa fille.

 

– Son père, quinze ans en 1936 :

 

Le père est natif de Jilin dans le Shandong, c’est un petit fonctionnaire qui n’a pas dépassé le collège et n’a aucun lien avec les milieux intellectuels. L’année 1936 … Lire la suite

Liu Cixin et « Le problème à trois corps », un succès international mérité.

liu-cixin-8Ce roman de Science Fiction, est un succès international. Les trois tomes du cycle ont été traduits en anglais et le premier volume, « Le problème à trois corps » est maintenant disponible dans une traduction de Gwennaël Gaffric (1).

 

Les trois romans, publiés à partir de 2008, ont été vendus en Chine à plus de deux millions d’exemplaires et, fait exceptionnel, la traduction anglaise a touché 200 000 lecteurs dont Marc Zukerberg et … Lire la suite

Qiu Xiaolong, gastronomie et poésie au service de l’enquête policière.

qiu-xiaolongLe romancier passe quinze jours en France pour présenter son dixième livre « Il était une fois l’inspecteur Chen » (1), accompagné d’un petit volume offert par les éditeurs, « Il était une fois Qiu Xiaolong » (2). Un ensemble très séduisant, fort bien servi par la traduction d’Adélaïde Pralon, qui nous plonge dans l’intimité de l’auteur et de son héros, l’inspecteur Chen Cao.

 

  • Chen Cao, comment on devient commissaire :

 

Qiu Xiaolong nous raconte … Lire la suite

Chi Zijian, « Le dernier quartier de lune » et la mort du peuple Evenki.

chi-zijian-5La romancière Chi Zijian dans un livre magnifique, « Le dernier quartier de lune» (1) nous fait découvrir le crépuscule des Evenki, nomades éleveurs de rennes sur « La rive droite de la rivière Argun », selon le titre original, mieux adapté.

 

  • 1- Les Evenki et la rivière Argun :

 

La rivière Argun sur 900 kilomètres, sert de frontière entre Chine et Russie et près de Mohe, la ville la plus au nord de la Chine, rejoint … Lire la suite

Dans « Marrow » de Yan Lianke, une mère refuse d’accepter le destin.

yan-lianke-5Yan Lianke est un des écrivains chinois actuels les plus importants, à coup sûr Nobélisable. Sept de ses romans ont été traduits en français, mais peu de nouvelles ou de courts romans. C’est pourquoi, il faut se féliciter qu’un roman publié en 1999 ait été traduit en anglais(1). Un livre que l’auteur a publié avant ses romans les plus connus mais qui contient nombre des thèmes qu’il développera par la suite.

– Un roman de Lire la suite

Su Tong, un grand roman, « Le dit du Loriot ».

Su Tong 6Le dernier roman de Su Tong, « Le dit du loriot » (1) vient d’être publié. Un livre remarquable qui, comme son précédent roman « La berge » (2), a été traduit avec talent par François Sastourné. Des récompenses littéraires de premier plan : le prix Man Asia 2009 pour « La berge » et surtout le neuvième prix Mao Dun en 2015 pour son dernier roman.

 

  • Des nouvelles, des romans historiques, des films :

Su Tong est l’un des écrivains … Lire la suite